Domestic violence offenses are aggressively prosecuted in Texas in an effort to protect victims and their children from harm. In order for a violent act to be viewed as domestic violence, it must involve spouses, ex-spouses, those related by blood, those who have a child in common, household members, or dating partners. If charged with a domestic violence crime, you face the possibility of serious penalties. Even a first offense will often result in jail time and other court-ordered actions which can adversely impact your life. In such a situation, you need a proven trial lawyer in your local area who has the requisite experience and skills to fully defend you.
If you're facing a domestic battery charge in or around Collin County, The Law Offices of Deandra M. Grant, PC provides outstanding legal representation. Attorney Grant is a Texas Super Lawyer with two decades of criminal defense practice. Her proven legal ability has resulted in the highest rating from Martindale-Hubbell, the national lawyers' peer review organization as well as a 10 out of 10 "Superb" rating by Avvo. She and her committed legal team know how to build effective and compelling legal defenses that can make a difference in the outcome of your case.
Under Texas law, domestic battery consists of an assault which intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily harm to the victim. Aggravated assault occurs when serious bodily harm is caused intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly or when the alleged offender uses or threatens to use a deadly weapon while in commission of the crime. In the case of simple domestic assault, it is charged as a Class A misdemeanor on a first offense which is punishable by up to a year in jail and / or a fine of up to $4,000. Second and subsequent offenses are charged as third degree felonies punishable by two to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
In the case of an aggravated domestic assault, it is charged as a second degree felony punishable by two to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. In cases where a deadly weapon is used and serious bodily injury is caused to the victim, it is generally charged as a first degree felony carrying penalties of five to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Any domestic violence accusation demands an aggressive and thorough legal response. Our firm has proven results in defending these types of cases in Collin County. Protect your reputation, your freedom, and your future – contact our firm today for skilled legal advice and guidance.