In Texas, causing an auto accident when driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense. If convicted, you may face up to 10 or even 20 years in state prison – if the accident resulted in serious injury or death to another passenger or driver.
In the face of DWI accident charges, the lawyer you choose will make all the difference. Hiring a skilled Dallas County and Collin County DWI lawyer could mean the difference between a standard plea agreement and a powerful and complete defense. Your freedom is on the line if you've been arrested for Intoxication Assault or Intoxication Manslaughter.
At The Law Offices of Deandra M. Grant, PC we offer comprehensive criminal defense for DWI accident charges throughout Collin County and Dallas County, Texas. Every case has facts that allow us to develop a defense, no matter how daunting the facts may have seemed when you were charged. Mounting a strong defense to DWI accident charges, whatever the circumstances may be, is what we do.
Collin County and Dallas County DWI Accidents
The majority of serious DWI accident offenses will be charged as felonies. Intoxication Assault is a third degree felony, punishable by 2 to 10 years in prison, fines of up to $10,000 and up to 600 hours of community service. Intoxication Manslaughter is a second degree felony, punishable by 2 to 20 years in state prison, fines of up to $10,000 and up to 800 hours of community service.