Criminal Threat Defense Attorneys in Dallas
Serving Clients in Fort Worth, Denton, Austin, Waco & Allen
Acts of violence against family members, household members, or dating partners are taken very seriously by Texas courts. A conviction of any domestic violence offense can lead to harsh consequences for the offender. To obtain the best possible legal result in such a situation, you will need the representation of an aggressive and experienced criminal defense attorney. If you are facing any type of domestic violence charge in or around Dallas, you can turn to Deandra Grant Law where you will find a nationally recognized criminal defense lawyer with nearly 30 years of legal experience. Our legal team fully understands what is at stake for you in any domestic violence accusation and will immediately set to work on your behalf with competent and committed legal counsel throughout the duration of your case. Our aim is to help you secure an optimum outcome.
Call (214) 225-7117 to discuss the details of your case with one of our criminal threat defense lawyers in Dallas. We also represent clients in Collin County and throughout northern Texas.
Criminal Threats in Texas
A criminal threat against a spouse, family member, household member, or dating partner constitutes an act of assault under Section 22.01 of Title 5 of the Texas Penal Code. Under this law, a criminal threat is defined as "intentionally or knowingly" threatening another with imminent bodily harm. Bodily harm means physical pain, illness, or damage to one's physical condition. Therefore, if you place another in fear of such harm through verbal or written threats, you can be charged with domestic violence assault.
If you have no previous domestic violence convictions, a first-time incident of a criminal threat against another in a domestic violence situation will result in a Class A misdemeanor charge. In second and subsequent incidents, the charge is elevated to a third degree felony. Conviction of a Class A misdemeanor carries is punishable by up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000. A third degree felony charge is punishable by two to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. You may also be required to pay restitution to the victim, be subject to a protective order which prohibits you from any contact with the victim, and attend and complete a domestic violence offender program. You will also have a permanent criminal record upon a conviction.
Get Experienced Legal Help
Many charges of domestic violence crimes are based on fraudulent, exaggerated, and false accusations. Our firm will explore all legal options to help you fight such a charge and the harsh consequences that can follow.
Contact Deandra Grant Law to learn how we can help you today. Our criminal threat defense attorneys in Dallas offer comprehensive consultations.
Trial- NOT GUILTY
Violation of Civil Commitment
Driving While Intoxicated With a Blood Alcohol =0.15
Continuous Sexual Abuse of A Child