Over four million American adults are willing to admit to drinking and driving occasionally.
Drunk driving is common, but it’s also entirely preventable. Yet many drivers don’t think they can actually steer clear of drinking and driving. In fact, nearly one-quarter of drivers who admit to driving while inebriated claim they didn’t have a choice at the time.
Do you often find yourself in situations that make it easy and convenient to drink and drive? Let’s look at a few steps you can take to prevent a DWI.
Know When to Stop Drinking
For drivers 21 or older, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is .08%. Anyone who goes beyond this can get charged with a DWI.
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission’s estimated BAC chart is a tool you can use to find out when to quit drinking. It shows that an average 200 lb man can have about three drinks in one hour before becoming legally intoxicated. Meanwhile, a 160 lb woman can only consume two drinks before she goes above the legal limit.
While these are only estimates, they can still prove to be useful. It’s a good idea to print out the chart and keep it on you.
To avoid getting drunk too fast, don’t drink on an empty stomach. Also, remember that foods high in fats can cause your body to absorb alcohol more slowly.
Make Use of Ride-Sharing Apps
In 2015, Uber suspended its operations in San Antonio for six months. But car accidents with drunk drivers declined by 40% once Uber came back to town.
Thanks to ride-sharing apps like Uber and Lyft, you’re a few taps away from scheduling a safe ride home.
Make sure you download your app of choice and familiarize yourself with it before going out. Once you set up your account and add a payment method, you won’t have to worry about reaching for cash or your credit card.
Choose a Designated Driver
The Designated Driver Campaign in the US has been around since the late 80’s. Since its inception, it has saved countless lives. Today, it’s still one of the most effective and inexpensive DWI prevention techniques.
If you go drinking with several friends, try selecting a designated driver randomly by drawing names out of a hat. The next time you go out together, leave the last driver’s name out.
When going out with a large group, consider having more than one designated driver.
Final Thoughts on How to Prevent a DWI
The tips outlined about will help you prevent a DWI and avoid severe punishment. A DWI prevention class can teach you even more.
Keep in mind that, in many cases, it’s not hard for police to spot a drunk driver. Intoxicated drivers tend to swerve, take too long to react to traffic signals, and brake more often than usual.
Also, don’t forget that Texas has harsh penalties for drunk drivers. For your first DWI, you can get hit with up to a $2k fine and end up serving a maximum of 180 days in jail.
Are you dealing with a recent DWI charge? If so, be sure to contact our law offices today to get help.