Can You Drink and Drive? Why You Shouldn’t Do It

You’re out with your friends, having a good time, and you have a few more drinks than you meant to. You feel fine, though, and think “I am definitely ok to drive home”.

Can You Drink and Drive Why You Shouldn’t Do ItCan you drink and drive? Maybe, but even though you feel fine, you likely are not.

Most states set the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) at 0.08 and if you have a BAC at this level, you are more likely to be in a fatal crash than a sober driver. You might be at a 0.08 BAC after only 3-4 drinks, depending on your body size, how quickly to metabolize alcohol, and over what period of time you had the drinks.

You are likely much more impaired than you think and this puts you, your passengers, and others on the road at risk. If this isn’t enough to dissuade you from DWI, read on for a few more reasons why you should not drink and drive.

You Could Face Stiff Penalties

States have really cracked down on DWI and most states sentence convicted DWIoffenders to jail time (or prison time, depending on your prior DWI record and if you caused a fatal accident), hefty fines, loss of your driver’s license, and potentially probation, community service hours, and substance abuse classes.

You Will Lose Your License

In Texas, any DWI conviction is accompanied by a loss of your driver’s license. For your first offense, you will face a suspension of up to one year. For your second, third, and any subsequent offenses, your license could be suspended for up to two years.

You Will Face Financial Penalties

A DWI will cost you, both financially and emotionally. On the financial side, most states require large fines when you are convicted of DWI. In Texas, your first offense could result in a fine of up to $2,000. Your second offense could come with a fine of up to $4,000, and your third offense could result in a fine of up to $10,000.

Not only will you face fines, but you will also often have to pay fees to the state to get your license back. Once you are finally able to drive again, you will need special insurance because of your high risk.

This insurance is called an SR-22 policy and is not offered by every insurance company. You’ll have to find an insurance company willing to insure you for the period of time you’re required to have this special insurance, which is usually around two years. This is typically much more costly than a standard car insurance premium.

Can You Drink and Drive?

Can you drink and drive? Sure, if you are willing to pay the financial and legal price and put yourself and others at risk. However, if you are like most people, you realize that drinking and driving is incredibly risky. Even if you are lucky and “get away with it” once or twice, every time you get behind the wheel after having too many drinks, you are risking your life and the lives of others.

If you find yourself facing DWI charges, you will need a good criminal defense attorney to represent you. Contact us at Deandra Grant Law today for a case consultation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *