Commercial DWI in Texas

Commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders qualify to operate large vehicles that carry precious cargo or passengers. Since commercial drivers are held to a higher standard compared to noncommercial drivers, a DWI conviction in Texas can result in harsher penalties.

Commercial DWI in TexasFirst, you must understand that the legal limit for commercial drivers is a blood alcohol content (BAC) of.04 percent. On the other hand, the legal limit for non-commercial drivers is .08 percent.

A commercial DWI in Texas is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a jail term of up to 180 days and a maximum fine of $2,000. In addition, a first offense carries CDL suspension for one (1) year.

However, if a commercial driver was transporting hazardous materials at the time of the arrest, then the CDL suspension period lasts three (3) years. A second or subsequent DWI conviction will result in permanent CDL disqualification.

Keep in mind, a commercial driver can get their CDL suspended if he/she is operating any motor vehicle while impaired. In other words, if you are convicted of a Texas DWI when you were driving your personal vehicle, your CDL can still be subject to disqualification.

Even if you are convicted of a first DWI offense, losing your CDL for a year could still mean the end of your career. Without the ability to drive, you cannot earn a living and support your family.

If you or a loved one has been charged with a commercial DWI in Dallas or Austin, contact Deandra Grant Law today at (214) 225-7117 to discuss your case. Get a legal team with more than 25 years of trial-tested experience on your side!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *