Second DWI in Texas: What to Expect for Repeat Offenders

Getting a second DWI in Texas comes with a laundry list of problems, including the possibility of jail time. Repeat offenders enter serious new legal territory that should not be navigated alone. We will dive into exactly what to expect when receiving a second DWI charge in Texas and why you need an advocate on your side!

Let’s take a look!

Second DWI in Texas What to Expect for Repeat OffendersThe Charge

A second DWI charge means that you have been convicted already of a DWI, which likely means you did not have adequate representation the first time around. A DWI does not necessarily have to be alcohol; intoxication from illegal substances or prescription drugs can also result in a DWI arrest.

It does not matter how long ago your first DWI occurred. The DWI does not drop off from your record, so getting another DWI, no matter how far between, still counts as a DWI second. This charge has harsher sentencing and punishments, so hiring a lawyer is crucial to fighting the charge.


If you have been arrested less than ten years prior to your current DWI arrest in Texas, the DMV can suspend your license and impose fees. The arresting officer will confiscate your driver’s license upon the DWI arrest. You have up to 15 days to contest the suspension of your license, however.

If you have failed a BAC test, your license will be suspended for one year. If you refuse a test, your license could be suspended for up to two years. This can only be resolved if you are acquitted of the DWI charges.

Additionally, an ignition interlock device will be placed in your vehicle. This device requires that the driver blow into it before and during driving periodically to prevent further drunk driving instances.

Jail and Fines

Receiving a second DWI in Texas means that you face harsher punishments than the first time around. Jail time could be anywhere from 30 days to 1 year. The fines for your second DWI could reach up to $4,000, including additional fees for reinstating your driver’s license.

Other factors, such as driving with a child while intoxicated or injuring someone in an accident, could result in up to 2 years in jail and thousands in fines. That is why having a reputable lawyer on your side is essential in situations involving a DWI.

Managing a Second DWI in Texas

If you are reading this, then you need help from an experienced team. Getting your second DWI in Texas is nothing to take lightly, and not handling the situation with care could result in jail time, fines, and more. With that being said, things can go differently than the first time around if you choose to hire a DWI lawyer this time around.

Our team is dedicated and ready to fight your case. If you are ready to learn more about how we can help you, then contact us today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *