Experienced DWI Defense Serving North Texas
  • AV Preeminent
  • ACS-CHAL Lawyer Scientist
  • Voted Best D
  • NORML
  • Avvo 10.0 Top Attorney
  • DUIDLA
  • FSA
  • Super Lawyers
  • American Academy of Forensic Sciences
  • Dallas Best

Dallas Family Violence Defense Attorneys

Award-Winning Legal Help for North Texans

Family violence, otherwise known as domestic violence, carries both misdemeanor and felony charges in Texas. If you are facing these charges, it is vital that you have a strong advocate on your side defending your rights and pursuing what is in your best interests in the courts. At Hamilton Grant NTX, you can turn to a legal team known for its high level of competence, ability, dedication, and ethical standards. Our firm includes trial-tested attorneys who understand the law, what is at stake, and how to build and present a compelling case in court. We have a reputation for big results in using our wealth of experience and legal skills for clients throughout Collin County, Fort Worth, McKinney, Denton, and Austin.

Reach out to a Dallas family violence defense lawyer at (214) 225-7117 or by contacting us online to arrange for a consultation about your case today.

What Is Family Violence in Texas?

Family violence is broken down into three separate categories in Texas: domestic assault, aggravated domestic assault, and continuous violence in a domestic situation.

You can be charged with a domestic violence charge when the alleged victim is a(n):

  • Spouse
  • Ex-spouse
  • Child
  • Foster child
  • Foster parent
  • Other parent of your child in an unmarried relationship
  • Family member related by blood, marriage, or adoption
  • Person with whom you live or date or have previously dated

Consequences of a Conviction

These charges are based on a threat of imminent bodily harm, actually causing bodily harm, or creating some type of offensive or provocative physical contact against the other person. It is imperative that you have help from an experienced team of criminal defense lawyers if you are to protect your future.

A first offense is generally charged as a Class A misdemeanor. A subsequent offense is charged as third-degree felony. Penalties for the former include up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000. Third-degree felony charges carry penalties of 2 to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Offenses involving deadly weapons generally carry heavier penalties.

Make sure you have the representation you need to preserve your future. Contact Hamilton Grant NTX for an aggressive defense by calling (214) 225-7117 today.

Combat Your Charges

Schedule Your Case Review
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.

Big Firm Results

Recent Client Victories
  • Trial-NOT GUILTY Continuous Sexual Abuse of A Child
  • Trial- NOT GUILTY Violation of Civil Commitment
  • Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury of a Family Member
  • Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury of a Family Member
  • Dismissed Possession of a Controlled Substance, Penalty Group 3, under 28 grams
  • Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury of a Family Member
  • Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury of a Family Member
  • Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury of a Family Member
  • Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury of a Family Member
  • Reduced to State Jail Felony and time served in Possession of a Controlled Substance, 1-4 grams, enhanced
/